Juneau Reentry Coalition Leadership


Community volunteers provide organizational leadership for the Juneau Reentry Coalition (JREC).  This leadership body is called the JREC Steering Team.  The Juneau Reentry Coalition’s leadership team’s roster is designed to represent a cross-section of community interests, expertise, and perspectives.  This way, the coalition’s activities and objectives are well informed and well-founded through community involvement.

The Steering Team is led by Co-chairs, one representing the Alaska Department of Corrections (DOC) and one community member.  Staff to the coalition is provided by the Coalition Coordinator.

The Steering Team united goals are:

  • To enhance the health and safety of the local community.
  • To develop and strengthen collaboration with local organizations and agencies who are focused on providing reentry services in the Juneau community.
  • To develop and strengthen collaboration with the Alaska Department of Corrections.
  • To identify barriers for returning citizens and actively promote public awareness and proactively work on developing ways to address these barriers.
  • To collaborate and communicate with other local reentry coalitions to broaden and expand reentry programs and services throughout the state of Alaska.

Steering Team Organization

The Juneau Reentry Coalition Leadership team is organized as listed in the below table.

No. Seat Designation
1 Community Co-chair
2 Dept. of Corrections Co-chair
3 Fiscal Agent
4 Tribal Member
5 Behavioral Health & Wellness Member
6 Community Education & Outreach Member
7 Education & Training Member
8 Employment Member
9 Family Support Member
10 Housing Member
11 Peer Support Member
12 Law Enforcement Member
13 Faith-Based Organization Member
14 Victim Advocate Member
15 Legal Professional Member
16 Juneau At-Large Member
17 Juneau At-Large Member
18 Juneau At-Large Member
19 Reentry Case Management Member
20 Coalition Coordinator (non-voting)

Current Steering Team Members

Name Organization Seat
Teri Tibbett Alaska Mental Health Board, and Alaska Advisory Board on Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Community Co-chair
Sgt. Derek Johnson Lemon Creek Correctional Center Dept. of Corrections Co-chair
Deb Percy/Rachel Gearhart JAMHI Health & Wellness Fiscal Agent
Talia Eames Tlingit & Haida, Reentry and Recovery Department Tribal Member
Jim Swanson Alaska Division of Vocational Rehabilitation Employment & Education/Training
Richard Cole Community At-Large
Jim Musser JAMHI Health & Wellness Peer Support
Christina Lee Tlingit & Haida, Reentry and Recovery Department Housing
Nathan Block JAMHI Health & Wellness Reentry Case Manager
Don Habeger Staff Community Coordinator